IN THE RECENT encounter between the Chicago Bears and the Green Bay Packers, Bears wide receiver Johnny Knox recorded what seemed like a perfectly legitimate touchdown.
The score followed a wonderfully disguised pass that had the opposition bamboozled.
However, in a decision which had everyone in the stadium baffled, not least the commentators, the Bears hopes of mounting a late comeback were all but extinguished when the official called a penalty for holding.
Judge for yourself below, but either they saw something that wasn’t obvious based on replays, or this was a fairly spectacular error from the officials.
Either way, NFL rules do not permit officials explaining their decisions after the game, and so we’ll never know for sure the rationale behind this strange call.