The Score uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Wednesday 3 September, 2014

Hanrahan, van den Heever among seven Munster changes for Warriors visit

Rob Penney has made five changes to his pack, including resting Paul O’Connell.

Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

MUNSTER COACH ROB Penney has rotated more than half of his starting line-up for tomorrow’s Pro12 meeting with Glasgow Warriors at Thomond Park.

The outgoing Kiwi coach has made seven alterations to the side who demolished Toulouse in last week’s Heineken Cup quarter-final including the number 10 position where JJ Hanrahan is given the nod.

Conor Murray continues at half-back to partner the Kerryman, but outside the dynamic pair there is only one enforced change; Gerhard van den Heever coming into the right wing position as Keith Earls moves to centre in the absence of the injured Casey Laulala.

The majority of the changes come in the pack where Sean Dougall and Donncha O’Callaghan start in place of Tommy O’Donnell and Paul O’Connell respectively.

In the absence of Peter O’Mahony after surgery on a damaged AC joint in his shoulder, James Coughlan captains the side with CJ Stander wearing O’Mahony’s number six jersey.

Playoff hopefuls, Glasgow have selected Duncan Weir at out-half with Ruairidh Jackson dropping out of the match-day squad.

There is no place for Niko Matawalu either, the Fijian appeared on the wing last time out in the Pro12, but has been named in a Warriors’ squad along with Carlin Isles to play in the Melrose Sevens tournament tomorrow.

Stuart Hogg, DTH van der Merwe, Ryan Grant and Tom Ryder all miss out through injury.

Munster: Felix Jones, Gerhard van den Heever, Keith Earls, James Downey, Simon Zebo, JJ Hanrahan, Conor Murray: John Ryan, Duncan Casey, BJ Botha, Donncha O’Callaghan, Dave Foley, CJ Stander, Sean Dougall, James Coughlan (Capt).

Replacements: Quentin MacDonald, Dave Kilcoyne, Alan Cotter, Billy Holland, Paddy Butler, Duncan Williams, Ian Keatley, Johne Murphy.

Glasgow: Peter Murchie; Sean Maitland, Alex Dunbar, Finn Russell, Tommy Seymour; Duncan Weir, Chris Cusiter (Capt):  Gordon Reid, Dougie Hall, Jon Welsh; Tim Swinson, Jonny Gray; Josh Strauss. Chris Fusaro. Ryan Wilson.

Replacements: Pat MacArthur, Jerry Yanuyanutawa, Geoff Cross, Leone Nakarawa, Rob Harley, Henry Pyrgos, Peter Horne, Richie Vernon.

9 reasons to get PUMPED about this weekend’s Pro12 action

Opinion: Peace in European rugby hits fans in the pocket

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

Read next:

Comments (12 Comments)

Add New Comment