The Score uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Tuesday 2 September, 2014

Glasgow beat abject Munster by 17 points in Thomond Park

Three first half tries have put the hosts to the sword.

Dave Foley tackles Jonny Gray.
Dave Foley tackles Jonny Gray.
Image: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

TRIES FOR JONNY GRAY, Sean Maitland and Josh Strauss helped Glasgow Warriors inflict Munster’s first home defeat of the season in the RaboDirect Pro12, boosting their own playoff hopes in the process.

The visitors kicked to the corner after Munster were penalised for not rolling away in the opening five minutes and their game plan came to fruition when Jonny Gray found his way over on the back of a maul to give Glasgow the ideal start.

Duncan Weir duly converted and the Warriors were 10 points up on nine minutes when Munster were again penalised for not rolling away.

This seemed to spark the homeside into life and their pressure eventually paid off on 18 minutes when CJ Stander went over out wide but the conversion was missed.

Shortly after JJ Hanrahan was replaced by Ian Keatley, Munster were again whistled at the breakdown — this time for offside — and Glasgow again opted to kick for touch. This time, however, they spread the ball out wide and Maitland skipped past a number of Munster tackles before touching down.

A Strauss try four minutes before the interval, converted by Weir, saw the visitors go into the break with a 17-point lead and, despite some pressure from the hosts, neither side were able to make a breakthrough in the second half.

The result moves the Warriors into fourth place on 60 points, four clear of Ospreys with a game in hand and just three behind Munster. They will host second-placed Ulster next weekend while Munster must travel to provincial rivals Connacht.

Scorers for Glasgow:
Tries: J Gray, S Maitland, J Stauss
Cons: D Weir (2)
Pens: D Weir
Scorers for Munster:
Try: CJ Stander

Glasgow Warriors: Peter Murchie, Sean Maitland, Alex Dunbar, Finn Russell, Tommy Seymour, Duncan Weir, Chris Cusiter (capt), Gordon Reid, Dougie Hall, Jon Welsh, Tim Swinson, Jonny Gray, Josh Strauss, Chris Fusaro, Ryan Wilson.

Munster: Felix Jones, Gerhard van den Heever, Keith Earls, James Downey, Simon Zebo, JJ Hanrahan, Conor Murray, John Ryan, Duncan Casey, BJ Botha, Donncha O’Callaghan, Dave Foley, CJ Stander, Sean Dougall, James Coughlan (capt).

Highlights here:

Habana marks return with try in Toulon comeback win

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

Read next:

Comments (60 Comments)

Add New Comment