The Score uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Tuesday 2 September, 2014

Glory for Coláiste Eoin as they lift Leinster senior colleges football crown in Croke Park

The final took place in Croke Park this evening.

Colaiste Eoin's Conn O'Ceallachain is tackled by Brian Stack and Sam Omukoro of Marist College.
Colaiste Eoin's Conn O'Ceallachain is tackled by Brian Stack and Sam Omukoro of Marist College.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Coláiste Eoin (Stillorgan) 1-10
Marist College (Athlone) 1-8

COLÁISTE EOIN CLAIMED the Leinster colleges SAFC crown with a two-point win over Marist College tonight in Croke Park. It ends a 16-year wait for Coláiste Eoin’s second crown as they atoned for final losses in 2010 and 2012.

The Dublin school recovered from a three-point interval deficit to fashion victory with sharpshooter Conn Ó Ceallacháin as he struck 0-9 overall. Colm Ó Neill’s second-half goal was also crucial for the Stillorgan-based outfit.

Marist College had made the early running to lead 1-5 to 0-5 at the break. Charlie McMickan drilled home a 13th minute goal to set them on their way while Conor Marlow superbly converted a pair of 45′s.

But Coláiste Eoin recovered after the break and were level early in the second-half when Ó Neill found the net to tie the teams at 1-6 apiece. The game was still delicately balanced entering the final quarter when the teams were tied at 1-7 apiece but Coláiste Eoin pulled clear with Ó Ceallacháin accurate from both placed balls and play while Fionn Ó Riain Broin also chipped in with a point from play.

Coláiste Eoin now advance to the All-Ireland stage when they will feature in the Hogan Cup semi-final on March 29th against the winners of the MacRory Cup final that will be contested by St Pat’s (Maghera) and Omagh CBS on St Patrick’s Day.

Scorers for Coláiste Eoin: Conn Ó Ceallacháin 0-9 (0-5f), Colm O Neill 1-0, Fionn Ó Riain Broin 0-1.
Scorers for Marist College: Charlie McMickan 1-2, Niall Neary 0-3, Conor Marlow 0-2 (0-2 ’45), Michael Monaghan 0-1.

COLÁISTE EOIN: Sean Ó Dubhláin (Scoil Uí Chonaill); Enda Ó Lorcáin (Ballinteer St John’s), Oisin Ó Dúill (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Cian Ó Riain Broin (St Judes); Dylan Ó Treasaigh (Cuala), Eoghan Ó Naoir (Cuala), Ben MacCormaic (Bray Emmetts); Sean Ó Dúlaing (Cuala), Conchúr Ó Cathasaigh (Kilmacud Crokes); Rian Mac Giolla Bhríde (St Vincent’s), Cillian Ó Séanáin (Cuala), Fionn Ó Riain Broin (St Judes); Lúc Ó Giolláin (Cuala), Colm Ó Neill (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Conn Ó Ceallacháin (Cuala).

Subs: Dara Ó Colpa (Cuala) for Ó Treasaigh (inj) (17), Cillian MacGearailt (Ballinteer St  John’s) for Ó Giolláin (54).

MARIST COLLEGE: Shane Mannion (St Brigid’s); Alan Daly (St Brigid’s), Mark Daly (St Brigid’s), Frank Farrell (Garrycastle); Martin Nolan (St Brigid’s), Mark Curley (Garrycastle), Luke Carty (St Brigid’s); Sam Omukoro (Athlone), Gavin Delaney (Tubberclair); Terry Byrne (Doon), Niall Neary (Tang), Michael Monaghan (Garrycastle); Charlie McMickan (Athlone), Conor Marlow (Tang), Brian Stack (St Brigid’s).

Subs: Eamon Cunnane (St Brigid’s) for Nolan (44), Conor Gleeson (St Brigid’s) for Byrne (48), Adrian Garvey (Tubberclair) for Delaney (55).

Referee: Fergal Kelly (Longford).

Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne win third Munster Colleges football title in a row

11 of All-Ireland minor winning team named in Tipperary U21 side for Munster quarter-final

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

Read next:

Comments (3 Comments)

Add New Comment