The Score uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Friday 29 August, 2014

Cavan’s Aogán O Fearghail elected as the new GAA President

O Fearghail is the first Cavan man to be elected GAA President.

Aogán O Fearghail
Aogán O Fearghail
Image: ©Russell Pritchard / Presseye

AOGÁN O FEARGHAIL has tonight been elected as the new President of the GAA at the 2014 Congress in Croke Park.

Cavan native O Fearghail received 170 votes in the first count in tonight’s election which saw him clear of the quota of 156 votes.

Wexford’s Sheamus Howlin finished in second place with 83 votes while Kerry’s Sean Walsh garnered 57 votes.

The newly-elected President will take over from Liam O’Neill in 2015. O Fearghail was regarded as the favourite to land the position and become the next GAA President. He also became the first Cavan man to be elected to the role.

O Fearghail is from the Drumgoon club, which is located 14 miles east of Cavan town and is a former President of the Ulster Council.

In his acceptance speech O Fearghail said that that the ‘Four F’s’ will underpin his presidency with ‘fixtures, facilities, finance and family’ central to this ethos. He also paid tribute to Howlin and Walsh for featuring in the race.

Explainer: 7 key motions to keep an eye on tomorrow at the 2014 GAA Congress

Drama as ‘Anthony Nash’ free-taking motion withdrawn from GAA Congress agenda

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

Read next:

Comments (40 Comments)

Add New Comment